The People Screen is where you keep track of all your people, including members, children, prospects, visitors and contributors--as well as all of their individual and family information. The People Screen is divided into two sections: the left side of the screen lists the names of the people you've entered in the database, and the right side of the screen displays the person's individual and family information.
Adding names to the People Screen is one of the first steps in using ChurchTrac Online. Once names are added on this screen, you can add notes and track information like spiritual gifts. You will also use names entered on the People screen on other screens (like Groups, Attendance, and Giving).
To add a name, click on the "Add Name" button at the bottom of the list of names on the People screen. The Add Name window has a section for the individual's information, as well as a section at the bottom for shared family information (the family section is only visible when you select the option to Create a New Family). The first and last name fields are required for each individual. All other fields are optional. You can add additional members of the family atthe same time by clicking "Add Another Family Member".
When adding a new name (or several names from the same family), the program will automatically create a new Family. Alternatively, you can choose to "Assign to an Existing Family" if you are adding an individual to a Family that has already been added to your database.
You can enter additional information for the individual and family now from the Add Name window, or you can enter it later by editing a person's information on the People screen. An Administrator user can configure which fields appear on the Add Name window by going to Settings Administrator Settings Add Name Settings.
Once a name has been entered into the database, you can add additional information or edit existing information by clicking the "Edit" button on the People Screen. From the Edit view, you can also click on any underlined field name and create or edit the options for that selection box. In edit mode, you can edit or change the family name, change the family assignment, or edit any of the fields for this individual and family. Any changes you make are saved instantly.
ChurchTrac Online allows you to edit or change information for the names that are "checked" on the People Screen (notice the checkbox to the left of each individual's name). You can manually check the names you would like to work with, or you can select a Smart List of names and click "Select All" button on the bottom of the list of names on the People screen.
Once you have selected the group of names to be edited, click on the "Bulk Edit" button at the bottom of the people list and complete the information in the Bulk Edit pop up window. You can also use this feature to add the checked names to a Group to be used on the Groups and Attendance Screens.
More information on the bulk edit feature can be found here.
Under normal circumstances, it is not advisable to delete a person from your database. In addition to the individual's data being removed, their giving and attendance history will be disconnected from their profile (their contributions and attendance will be no longer be associated with a name in your database).
Instead of deleting a name from your database, you should consider changing the name to Inactive on the People screen, or you can Archive the name (using the Bulk Edit option on the People screen). When you archive a name, the name is removed from the People screen, and is no longer accessible for new attendance events, for entering contributions, etc. However, the name and the data associated with that name remain in your database and can be restored from Administrator Settings. Names that have been archived do not count toward the total number of names allowed by your plan.
If you do choose to delete a person, highlight the name in the people list and choose "Delete Name" option from the bottom of list of names on the People screen. If the person you are attempting to delete does have attendance, contribution, or other records associated with their name, ChurchTrac Online will ask for special confirmation before performing the delete.
If you have hundreds (or even thousands) of names in your database, it gets a little more difficult to scroll through the list one-by-one to find the name you're looking for. So ChurchTrac Online offers two options for searching names.
ChurchTrac Online provides a variety of predefined reports and labels. Click "Reports & Labels" on the People screen toolbar to view the report options. Your People screen reports will automatically include the names from the selected Smart List, or alternatively, the names that are checked on the People screen (you can choose which one before creating your reports).